Elaine “Lainey” Lui at Chapters Rideau – S09E29

Impossible Lainey Gossip

I was convinced by a good friend that I should check out Lainey Lui of Lainey Gossip and co-host of The Social on CTV at Chapters in downtown Ottawa. She was at there to promote her book, Listen To The Squawking Chicken: When Mother Knows Best, What’s A Daughter To Do? A Memoir (Sort of). Such a long title as it’s a memoir about her life and family (mainly her mom) with humour added.

What struck me about her is that she’s raised in a typical Chinese family living in Canada. It reminds me of how my mom is like but really depend with one another. Chinese families can have wacky dynamics ranging from the annoyance to being supportive in times of need. I felt like I can relate to her because it’s how Chinese families are raised through a unique cultural setting in Canada.

As I’m blogging, my brother was reading out some parts of the book and laughing like crazy. Quite distracting as I concentrated typing this entry.
I can say it’s definitely a good read for anyone who likes memoirs and humour but it’s not for all ages as they’re some profanity.
Even though I’m not familiar with her works on TV and blogging, I should pay attention to her stuff from time to time.

Overall, I had a good time checking her out in person and usually a surprise to see another friend also go to the book signing event. It’s always nice to be cheered up and go out to certain events like that.

Photos

Checking out Elaine Lui and chilling out with @hilarytroberts and @hausofhybrid. 🙂

A post shared by Lenny Wu (@wildworks) on

A Pseudo Selfie with Hilary prior to the event
image

One thought on “Elaine “Lainey” Lui at Chapters Rideau – S09E29

  1. LR says:

    Sounds like a fabulous time – wait until you read the book, it’s really well written and very “Lainey”.

Comments are closed.